VAMSO | Postcards from Afar: Mendelssohn’s Italian Symphony

Come herald VAMSO’s 2019/20 season with an exciting opening bound to captivate the imagination, starting with Strauss’ Overture to ‘Die Fledermaus’ and the beautiful, sweeping interplay of melody and harmony in Saint-Saëns’ Cello Concerto No. 1. Filled with warm harmonies and engaging melodies, Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 4 transports you to the bright and sunny landscapes of Italy bursting with youthful energy.

Ian Parker, conductor
Alice Lee, cello


F. Mendelssohn, Symphony No. 4 ‘Italian’
C. SaintSaëns, Cello Concerto No. 1
J. Strauss, Overture to ‘Die Fledermaus’ 

1:30pm: pre-concert performance by VAM Junior Symphony
2:00pm: concert start time

Cover image: Copilot Design

Online tickets are available until 9:00am on Sunday, October 13, after which tickets will be available at the door (cash or cheque, subject to availability). The Box Office will open at 1:00pm. Repertoire selections are subject to change. 

Tickets are non-refundable.

VAM’s Orchestral Program is supported by:
R & J Stern Family Foundation
Edith Lando Charitable Foundation


Location - Orpheum Theatre

601 Smithe St
Vancouver, BC
V6B 3L4 • Canada